Bruce and Rocksim Gurus...will this fly?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geof

Reaction score
Will this fly with a G64? It's not a perfect rocksim file, but I'm just a beginner. I think I have implemented the fat rocket adjustment, and the Levison ring and tube fin approximations. The tube fins have a bevel cut in the shape shown in the phony CP fins. All the phony stuff is nearly transparent.

I haven't yet figured out how to manage chute stuffing/ejection. Also, the body tube materials are just stand-ins. One other detail: the portion of the ring that passes through the tube fins won't really be there, but I couldn't make it disappear in rocksim.

Geof

View attachment gnat.rkt.rkt

So, just to be clear, what you are building has three beveled tube fins, with a ring fin bridging between them?

1) I think you need to triple the number of virtual fins to simulate the airflow on the tube fins. Two of the virtual fins have the same beveled shape as the real beveled tube. The third set has a narrower chord, equal to the shortest part of the bevel. This will improve your apparent stability margin.

2) After adding these extra virtual fins, the model appears to be nicely stable, with a margin of 1.34 when loaded. However, a large portion of that margin is provided by the "Levison Fat Rocket adjustment cone" hanging off the back. Without that, the margin is only 0.75 calibers.

Overall, I'm a bit leary of its stability. The Levison approximations work pretty well for small angles of attack, but I'm not sure they still apply when the AOA gets too high. If that is true, you might have a rocket that flies okay on some flights but goes unstable if it sees an ill-timed gust of wind.

This definitely warrants a good swing test before flying.