Best way to prep plywood fins for priming?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
I'm just starting out with using 1/8" plywood for fins, and am wondering what is an easy and lightweight way to fill in any grain before priming? Normally with balsa fins, I use Bondo Glazing putty, sand, prime, fix any defects, reprime, etc. Then sand with some 800 grit right before painting.

Also, are the edges handled any differently than with balsa? I normally use the same Bondo glazing putty to fill in the grain and sand.

I use GoodFilla to fill the grain and sand. Dries very quickly. Only takes about 30 minutes to be ready to sand. Same technique just different filler. And the edges of my fins are airfoiled. Not a lot of wood to fill.

. Then sand with some 800 grit right before painting.

Also, are the edges handled any differently than with balsa? I normally use the same Bondo glazing putty to fill in the grain and sand.
800 doesn't leave the surface with anything for the paint to really grip to. I never go beyond 320 grit before painting, same for the edges.

I had mixed to poor results using various high build and zinc primers.

At suggestion from a friend, I put several coats of shellac on the plywood fins and balsa nose cone. Sanded with 320 between coats. Turned out great!!

Shellac lays down flat, dries quickly, and is sandable right away. Doesn't require a good brush. Smells nice too, takes me back to 7th grade wood shop...

I had mixed to poor results using various high build and zinc primers.

At suggestion from a friend, I put several coats of shellac on the plywood fins and balsa nose cone. Sanded with 320 between coats. Turned out great!!

Shellac lays down flat, dries quickly, and is sandable right away. Doesn't require a good brush. Smells nice too, takes me back to 7th grade wood shop...