Beginner's epoxy question...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ewomack

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
As I start to think about transitioning to HPR, I realize that I have little to no knowledge of what kind of epoxy to use to make larger rockets such as Madcow's Super DX3 or something on that scale.

Is there a good source around for learning the ways of epoxy? Or is it all a lot simpler than my beginner's mind is thinking?

Thanks!

There are tons of different kinds of epoxy out there that have their pros and cons to each. If you just want to familiarize yourself with epoxy in general and the characteristics of them, I suggest getting some scraps of wood and plastic and just gluing them together any which way and then try to break the glue joints after curing. A good place to start is with Loctite clear epoxy and JB Weld. Both of these are available at most stores and are pretty affordable. Personally, I like JB Weld for high heat applications like where the ejection charge could do the most damage, but it is heavy. Also, I can vary the consistency of it by mixing it with a bit of acetone to thin it out if the application demands it. Loctite clear epoxy does well anywhere wood glue performs well, but has the added benefit of being able to bond plastic. However, it doesn't grip smooth surfaces very well, so I have to scratch up anything plastic that I glue with it first.

Also, keep in mind the curing time varies from one epoxy to another. Generally, the longer the cure time, the stronger the bond. The shorter cure times are great for tacking fins or parts that don't experience much structural stress, but be aware of heat! Epoxies cure in an exothermic reaction, so the shorter the cure time, the hotter it gets. This can be a problem for vacuumform plastic parts like textured wraps and nosecones.