Beginner in UK

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

125cc

Reaction score
Hello everyone. As per the title I'm a beginner having had a life-long interest in rocketry/spaceflight. I was inspired to take it up as my two kids (who are still too young to be involved with rocketry yet) have started a massive fascination with all things space and rockets recently.

I'm a private pilot and work in air traffic control so fully aware of the legalities & responsibilities laid out in the ANO. I have also read/digested the information on UKRA's website in depth. Having done so I have a couple of questions that hopefully someone can advise on.

-Insurance. UKRA strongly recommends insurance for obvious reasons. That said, I live in the North of Scotland in a rural area. The areas I would like to fly from are uninhabited with no property, animals or other objects around and well away from the local airport or habitation. Do I require insurance where there is practically zero risk? I have ruled out joining a club as my nearest one is almost 200 miles away.

-Motors/Propellant Transport. If I understand correctly I require an RCA letter for transporting motors up to D impulse. In other words, when I am driving to/from launch site. Is this correct? I only ask as I've never done this before having bought fireworks from the supermarket!

-UKRA membership. If I'm launching on my own and quite happy to do so, is there any merit in UKRA membership?

Many thanks for your time and happy flying (when we are allowed to that is!).

125cc