Beginner Clustering/Boosting

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Draxtharocketman

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Recently I've got into model rocketary and ive really really enjoyed it.
I'm using basic Estes rockets such as the Crossfire ISX, the Amazon and the big daddy.

My question is, would it be safe to super glue 2 A8-3s together and stick in the Amazon as a kind of booster?
I've watched a few videos of people doing such things even to the point of glueing 4 together and having no problems.

I know I'm a noob so pls be gentle, I just wish to expand my experience and reach greater heights.

Would this be ok, safe, and work?
Ive glued them so the recovery charge should ignite the 2nd stage.

Thank you.

You want the a8-0's for the bottom of the stack, not the a8-3's. To CHAD stage most folks use a wrap of clear office tape rather than glue.

I might suggest trying just a single a8-0 --> a8-3 stack. I think you may be surprised just how far that goes and how hard the top stage is to find!

You need a motor with a designation ending in -0 for a booster, and you don't need to glue your stages together, just use a wrap of regular scotch tape.

A -0 motor only has a propellant grain inside it and no delay or ejection charge. They are intended for the exact purpose of being booster motors and lighting the stage above them. Because multistage rockets also pick up a great deal of speed, you might also want to think about using a longer delay in your upper stage.

To reiterate and be perfectly clear: Use a -0 motor in your lower stage(s) and consider using a longer delay motor in your top stage, depending on the rocket and the power of your booster.

HOLD IT!