Battery Jump-Starter

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrGneissGuy

Reaction score
I have been using two 6volt lantern batteries in series foro launching with no trouble at all, until I tried to launch my first cluster. Now there could have been several things wrong aside from that power source just not being enough, to the cold weather reducing their effectiveness, to me simply not making my cluster wire harness correctly (or a combination of all three), but only one engine ignited and my daughter's saucer never left the launch rod. I'm thinking the main problem was battery choice.

As I'm not an electrician or electrical engineer, I've done a lot of reading trying to figure out launch controllers and power/energy supplies appropriate for launching. It appears the general opinion is that a 12 volt gel cell, motorcycle, car battery (or similar) is the best as it will give you many, many launches and can handle just about any brand of ingitors as well as clusters. Now considering that you can get 12 volts from eight AA batteries (or two lantern batteries), I'm guessing that, in addition to wanting 12 volts, the amperage is also important when trying to launch clusters? If that is correct, what amperage, in general is required for launching clusters (of say three or four) motors? If the amperage isn't a factor, I guess I don't understand the difference between using 8 AAs to get 12 volts versus using a motorcycle battery, other than longevity. And then I have to figure out why my cluster didn't work.