Aspiring Heights…

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THECLAPPR

Reaction score
Hello,
My name is Rick and I want to start a high altitude rocketry club in Grand Haven, MI. I make my own sugar rocket engines. I have a chemistry background but I am an airline pilot. I know how to open TFR’s so getting authorization to go to 10,000 and beyond should not be a problem for me. I found this page through John Beans at Jolly Logic. He said guys here could help me with some of the obstacles I’m trying to tackle.

most recently:

•How do I make a charge to blow the chute? I have some shotshell propellant I thought I’d start with. A layer of wax with a 3/8” cannon fuse at the top of mymotor
•How can i make my own Laval nozzles? Any tips?
•I need a good launch pad design. I’m thinking of using a camera tripod, but I want to be able to set the angle because I use winds aloft data to do the trig so my rocket lands close to where I launch it.
•Do I use a chute delay device?

I am really looking forward to making leaps forward with the collective knowledge I can learn here.

Rick

First get a dual deploy altimeter. Ditch the fuse. Don't use smokeless powder. A dual deploy altimeter senses apogee and deploys the drouge and at an altitude of your choosing deploys the main. I use 500'. You want to use FFFFg black powder for your ejection charges. I would also suggest you join an existing club to gain experience before trying this on your own. TRA would be my suggestion.

Welcome, Rick.

For parachute ejection, commercial composite motors use a separate delay grain that burns along with the fuel grain(s), but more slowly. A black powder charge on top of the delay grain is ignited at the end of the burn. You determine when, in seconds after motor burn-out, you want the recovery device to deploy and adjust the delay grain's physical length for that delay time.