Apostrophy'ss Problems'ss?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
In the first line of text below, what what I saw (minus the little red boxes to highlight the problem). I thought I had a typo... But, when I opened the post to fix it, I saw the 2nd line of text (as I had typed it). Canceling the edit didn't resolve the problem, but saving the edit does?

apostrophyoddity.png
What gives?


And... Here's a test.

Jim's parents gave him a model rocket for Christmas.
 

Angie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Mod
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
624
What were you using when you typed the quoted paragraphs? And has it happened again? Since it did not happen in the message of the post I'm not seeing a constant problem.

But, I am willing to see if I can get it to happen for me if I know the equipment and browser/app that you were using to type it.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
Computer: Asus
OS: Windows 10
Browser: Chrome

Can I get.com's it to happen again... Hmm..

^
Deliberate attempt to fool it with an apostrophe

[EDIT] Attempt.com's have failed. So far, it looks like a one off incident.
RR.com's pages
^
Deliberate attempts to fool it with an apostrophe

[EDIT] Looks like it's passed several attempts have failed. So far, it looks like a one off incident.
 
Last edited:

Angie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Mod
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
624
Okay, then I'm not going to spend time on it unless it happens again to you again. If anyone else has this happen, please post here.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
Okay, then I'm not going to spend time on it unless it happens again to you again. If anyone else has this happen, please post here.
In reading your post, I noticed it's happened again....

dotcomweirdness.png

The top was what I saw... Then I went to see what was written (below).

It seems that with .com and apostrophes, it's cropping up.
 

Angie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Mod
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
624
I can get com's to happen again. The cow's utter. The rabbit's ears dot'com. rocketeryforum.com

above just some testing.



When is the last time you did a complete shut down and restart? Also, have you cleaned cache recently?
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
I'm copying and pasting what I see exactly from your post.

I can get com's to happen again. The cow's utter. The rabbit's ears dot'com.
rocketeryforum.com

above just some testing.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
Here's another test...

RR.com's files are available at their website.


And what was written with the suspect characters replaced:

RR(dot)com(apostrophy)s files are available at their website.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
And it happened again with that last test.

reboot? Couple of days ago. Cache? probably when the hard drive was replaced.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
Rebooted, dumped cache...

still.com's a problem for me. Anybody.com's else having this issue?

still(dot)com(apostrophy)s a problem for me. Anybody(dot)com(apostrophy)s else having this issue?
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
I'll replace the period, and the apostrophy, and can you tell me if that matches what you are seeing?

still(dot)com(apostrophy)sroblem for me. Anybody(dot)com(apostrophy)se having this issue?
 

timbucktoo

Well-Known Member
Staff member
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jun 13, 2014
Messages
8,378
Reaction score
1,390
Location
Cocoa Beach
Probably been hacked by the Russian's or Chinese
 

ThirstyBarbarian

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8,671
Reaction score
1,316
It looks like what happens is, after you type a dot com followed by an apostrophe S, something deletes the next few characters.

Let me give it a try on my iPad.

I like to debug rocketryforum.com's glitches.
 

ThirstyBarbarian

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8,671
Reaction score
1,316
It looks like what happens is, after you type a dot com followed by an apostrophe S, something deletes the next few characters.

Let me give it a try on my iPad.

I like to debug rocketryforum.com's glitches.
It posted fine.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
It looks like what happens is, after you type a dot com followed by an apostrophe S, something deletes the next few characters.

Let me give it a try on my iPad.

I like to debug rocketryforum.com's glitches.
When I viewed the above text, I saw

I like to debug rocketryforum(dot)com(apostrophy)stches.

When I hit "Reply with Quote" the "stches" extended out and I see you posted the word "glitches".

Am I the only one seeing that? Or are others?

I'll note that after posting, when I'm seeing this, it appears fine. When I leave the page and return, or refresh the page, *THEN* I see it.
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,759
Reaction score
3,668
Location
Butte, Montana
I'll replace the period, and the apostrophy, and can you tell me if that matches what you are seeing?

still(dot)com(apostrophy)sroblem for me. Anybody(dot)com(apostrophy)se having this issue?
Here's what that looks like. What's up with the colors?
 

ThirstyBarbarian

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
8,671
Reaction score
1,316
When I viewed the above text, I saw

I like to debug rocketryforum(dot)com(apostrophy)stches.

When I hit "Reply with Quote" the "stches" extended out and I see you posted the word "glitches".

Am I the only one seeing that? Or are others?

I'll note that after posting, when I'm seeing this, it appears fine. When I leave the page and return, or refresh the page, *THEN* I see it.
Ok, that's weird. Now I see what you are talking about. When I posted it, it looked fine with the word "glitches." Now that I've come back, it is screwed up, with one space and the letters "gli" deleted. Looks like it consistently deletes 4 characters or spaces.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
Ok, that's weird. Now I see what you are talking about. When I posted it, it looked fine with the word "glitches." Now that I've come back, it is screwed up, with one space and the letters "gli" deleted. Looks like it consistently deletes 4 characters or spaces.
Ok So, it's not just me! That's a relief, it's not something that is affecting me only.
 

Cabernut

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
1,384
Reaction score
2
Interesting.. let me try

test.com's123456789

test.com's 123456789
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,178
Reaction score
3,268
Interesting.. let me try

test.com's123456789

test.com's 123456789
OK... When I hit quote, I can see that the 2nd one has a space between the "s" and the "1". However, in looking at the post, It got cropped so that the space, and "123" are missing.
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,759
Reaction score
3,668
Location
Butte, Montana
OK... When I hit quote, I can see that the 2nd one has a space between the "s" and the "1". However, in looking at the post, It got cropped so that the space, and "123" are missing.
Not for me. I see every character, including the space between the 's' and the '1' on both the original post and the one in the quoted message you posted.




Steve Shannon
 

timbucktoo

Well-Known Member
Staff member
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jun 13, 2014
Messages
8,378
Reaction score
1,390
Location
Cocoa Beach
Maybe something to do with ones screen name, just thinking out loud?
 

Angie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Mod
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
624
Interesting.. let me try

test.com's123456789

test.com's 123456789

When I see the original of this, on the bottom line there is no space or 123 it goes "com's456789"
Strange. Never have run up against something such as this before
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,759
Reaction score
3,668
Location
Butte, Montana
When I see the original of this, on the bottom line there is no space or 123 it goes "com's456789"
Strange. Never have run up against something such as this before
It looks fine to me in Tapatalk, but in Chrome on my iPad the numbers disappear as has been described. Now I'll look at it in Safari.
 
Last edited:
Top