Anyone have any experience with the LOC High Tech rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Titebond is the name of a popular brand of wood-glue. Here's their website. Sometime when people say titebond they just mean generic wood glue.
In your opinion, would say that it’s stronger that CA glue(quick cure, medium cure) or any type of JB weld?
For mid-powered rockets I like using a combination of gorilla super glue gel with JB weld slow cure. There is one downside about using super glue which is, you better have what you are gluing in it’s correct spot or else your screwed. I make sure I can position whatever it is I’m gluing first. Then JB weld for the fillets.

Like I mentioned I’m a newbie. This may be common knowledge to you but yet it’s useful information for me that I do take into consideration and is much appreciated.

CA glue of any common kind shouldn’t be relied on to keep on the fins of a mid-powered rocket. It’s sole job is to tack the fins in place so they don’t move around while the fillets are drying. As far as I can tell by text post, you are doing things correctly. I use medium cure and a bottle that can cure it near instantly once the fins are where I like them.

When it comes to JB weld slow cure versus titebond, depending on the exact products being compared, either could be stronger, but generally JB weld will have an edge in strength.

However, titebond is cheaper, easier to sand, and usually plenty strong for midpower rockets. I think titebond is a non-foaming glue but some wood glues (like gorilla glue) do foam. Do a test on some scrap material before hand to make sure you are satisfied with the result.