Altus Metrum Micro Peak Flashes... not understood

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

gdjsky01

Whoosh, pop: life is good
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
22
The doc and the behavior of my Micro Peak MP... don't seem to agree.

It powers up and flashes the decimeters first three digits... then seems to go bonkers... waits.... then flashes much faster than once every three seconds (as the docs say it should be once every 3), then goes completely dark. You don't need to go past 1:15... nothing else happens. :)

[YOUTUBE]BakxDh2jIM0[/YOUTUBE]

????:confused2::confused2::confused2::confused2::confused2:
 

BEC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
3,896
Reaction score
856
Location
Auburn, WA
The "seeming to go bonkers" is the data dump for the computer interface (https://altusmetrum.org/MicroPeakUSB/) Then there is the quiescent period for you to install it in your model, followed by being ready for the next flight (one flash every three seconds). Not sure about then going dark.

Perhaps Keith will pop on and clarify......
 

gdjsky01

Whoosh, pop: life is good
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
22
Thank you... the docs mention four digits... but did not mention the data dump... and I got only three digits then.
Then yes... it pauses... but as you can see it flashes much quicker than once every three seconds. Then it goes dark...
I mean where I launch? You rocket can be on the pad for... well... a lot longer than it should. :)

Thanks again!
 

BEC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
3,896
Reaction score
856
Location
Auburn, WA
I didn't watch the video....gotta update Flash to see it and I'm not all that excited to do that.

Ping keithp- he writes the Altus Metrum software including for this little thing.....he will know the specifics down to the finest detail.
 

keithp

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
387
Reaction score
8
The doc and the behavior of my Micro Peak MP... don't seem to agree.

It powers up and flashes the decimeters first three digits... then seems to go bonkers... waits.... then flashes much faster than once every three seconds (as the docs say it should be once every 3), then goes completely dark. You don't need to go past 1:15... nothing else happens. :)

[YOUTUBE]BakxDh2jIM0[/YOUTUBE]

????:confused2::confused2::confused2::confused2::confused2:
Sorry, I was in Australia (again), although there wasn't a launch this time. As others have mentioned, you get the max altitude reported, then three quick blinks and a dump of the flight data. After that, the quick blinking indicates that it thinks its flying again, which would normally happen only if the altimeter was lifted a long ways in a short amount of time. I think something happened to your altimeter; did it get banged up?
 

gdjsky01

Whoosh, pop: life is good
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
22
Its never flown... yet... :(
 

keithp

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
387
Reaction score
8
Its never flown... yet... :(
Well, sounds like something bad happened to it. If you want to send it back my way, I can take a look at it and either fix it or send you another one.
Feel free to send us a note via https://shop.gag.com/contacts/ and we'll get you an RMA number and shipping information.

Sorry you haven't gotten to play with it yet!
 

gdjsky01

Whoosh, pop: life is good
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
22
Message sent. Thank you
 
Top