Altimeters?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John_lennon

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm relatively new to the forum I'm getting into the hobby to have some bonding and learning time with my grandson. As we were out in the launch field he asked how do we know how high the rocket goes or what it's speed will be. I realize that an altimeter is necessary for this but can they go in any rocket? I'm unaware how large they are so I don't know if you need a certain size body tube for them to fit inside. If so what's the smallest tube they can go in? I've seen a couple builds with a dedicated electronics bay. Is this necessary for this type of electronics? I saw a video where they just attached it to the nose cone loop. Is this common practice with just the altimeter? Also which altimeter is a good one to get, that's not a huge purchase for a total beginner? Thanks, Dyl

Welcome to the forum!

In my opinion, your best bet would be a Jolly Logic Altimeter 3:

https://jollylogic.com/products/altimeterthree/
It is a simple device, you can control it from your phone via bluetooth and it really can be just stuck in any rocket that has enough room for it. I often just attach it to the nosecone of a rocket with a fishing swivel or piece of kevlar string.

The unfortunate part is that, like most electronics right now, it is in extremely short supply and is difficult to find. If you can find one, grab it right away. If not, you may have to wait or go with another option if you want something right now. There are a lot of other simple altimeters on the market, but most of them are computer boards that need to be mounted to something.

Hello, and welcome to the forum. There quite a lot of altimeter options, and some of them are small enough to fit into BT-20 (18mm tube) . Apogee has a list of some options, and FlightSketch is coming out with some cool products: