Quantcast

Adding to Rocksim

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Marlin523

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
721
Reaction score
0
If a data file is opened with Excel, can I simply add info to the spreadsheet and have it appear in Rocksim? If so, what is the name of the file that takes mass objects. Thanks for your help.
 

Evo666

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
413
Reaction score
0
Its in file "MODATA.CSV" in the Data folder.
You know you can change or add things through rocksim as well.
Think you just can't delete things.
Btw, if you're using Vista or Windows 7 you would need to go into properties and uncheck the read-only and possibly take control of the file.
 
Last edited:

Slickwilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
556
Reaction score
0
Data can be inserted by right clicking and inserting a new horizontal line where you want the new info. Each vertical column has a specific dimension, description and material name. The header line tells what info to add. In MODATA the material column must be in the MATERIAL data file, or you can leave it blank if you know the weight. The name column can be anything. The type column is general or shockcord.
Hope this helps out. :)
 

Marlin523

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
721
Reaction score
0
I do understand that part. My issue is when I have complete my Excel editing and try to save it. Rocksim does not seem to recognize the Excel file I saved. I am saving the file to the same Rocksim DATA file.
 

Pat_B

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
908
Reaction score
0
Could be a file sharing issue where two programs are attempting to access the same file. I doubt if they spent any time in RS working that out considering it's a rarely needed feature. I'd exit RS then reopen it after you saved the file form Excel.
 

Slickwilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
556
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure how the Mac Rocksim updates new info. You may need to copy the MODATA file to the "new_data" folder in your "data" folder like you are adding new info. This should update your new info.
 
Top