A bunch of questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KimYoungMuri

Reaction score
Hey everybody!

I'm currently trying to build a TVC (Thrust Vector Control) rocket. I have a lot of past experience with electronics and physics, but not so much in rocketry as a whole. I had a few general rocketry related questions that I was hoping you guys can answer! Thanks!

1. I'm trying to make the piston ejection system that Joey (BPS) uses in his rockets. If you goto 8:18 you see his ejection charge, but I wasn't sure where I can get these? Someone said they're firework igniters (e-matches) but I didn't have success finding them online. Can you send an amazon, apogee components, etc. link to where I can get something like the pyro charge wire he's using?

2. I'm also trying to make my own rocket launchpad! I believe (and correct me if I'm wrong) regular rockets use starters and starter plugs in the rocket engine and connect them to alligator clips to create enough heat to start the engine. But if you goto 4:27 in this video: , you can see that instead of something like a starter, Joey uses some kind of flame in his launchpad. I was wondering what this was, and where I can find something like this? Please send links, I might accidentally buy something completely different hehe. (better footage of these pyro wires: )

Thanks so much!

I'm currently trying to build a TVC (Thrust Vector Control) rocket. I have a lot of past experience with electronics and physics, but not so much in rocketry as a whole. I had a few general rocketry related questions that I was hoping you guys can answer!

You really need to build general awareness of rocketry, before you dive into the deep end of the pool with electronic ejection, thrust vectoring, etc.