5" Motor (to be)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
@ 750psi the force on the forward bulkhead will be 12,600lbs. How much safety do you want.

Dennis

If you are designing a 5" diameter EX motor, shouldn't you know how many bolts you need based on your desired safety factor? Maybe drawing a mathematical hypothesis here and asking for someone to check your work is more appropriate.

Not trying to be a jerk, just trying to instill the desire to learn in others.

With a .188 wall, at 750psi design pressure, the safety factor for the 6061 case is 3.5. I see no point in having a higher safety margin for the closures. For the closures with 10 pins on each end, the factor would be about 7.9.

Again, I'm no engineer so somebody correct me if I'm missing something.

Thinking further, it's not so much the number of pins that I'm concerned with as how they are spaced out around the case. If ten pins are spaced equally around one plane then the center of each pin would be 1.5" apart from the next. Using 1/4" pins, this would leave 1.32" of aluminum in between each hole.

Thinking further, it's not so much the number of pins that I'm concerned with as how they are spaced out around the case. If ten pins are spaced equally around one plane then the center of each pin would be 1.5" apart from the next. Using 1/4" pins, this would leave 1.32" of aluminum in between each hole.

5" OD circumference = ~15.70" length Next, take out (10 * .25) = 2.5" of circumference and you are left with 15.7-2.5 = 13.2" circumference at .188" thickness (we are assuming here, as this isn't exactly true, but close enough for this calculation) = 2.98 square inches of aluminum holding back 12,600 pounds. That equals a stress ~4230 PSI. What is your yield and ultimate stress on your aluminum?

Edward

Last edited: