2-stage flight this weekend

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

SparkyVTFlyer

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Got a 2-stage high-power flight in this weekend and I figured I'd share the video. First 2-stage flight in 2 years felt really good after I crashed the booster (I'm a slow builder). Great weather at Tripoli Central VA, 7400ft up and it landed about 1000ft away. Motors were 38mm, EX J450 Blue staging to an EX I120 Blue moonburn. Avionics were my own home-brew system that controlled all the events. The gyro did a fair job, but lost accuracy towards the end. Probably a calibration issue. 915MHz FHSS telemetry worked well, and was really useful figuring out what was happening when we couldn't see it. I was surprised how well the GPS kept up. The system is a work in progress. The plots at the end were produced with Python matplotlib.

Front.JPG
Back.JPG

SparkyVTFlyer

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Thanks. Yours is pretty good too, especially your ground station; that's a thing of beauty. Mine is just a 20x4 character LCD.

I've got a newer version now with better sensors and an SMA connector, but its the same basic footprint. The software is a work in progress, and I'm constantly chasing bugs, but the core features are stable. The integrated GPS is working really well now.