airbrush and acrilics question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjennings

Reaction score
I was painting my ACME Spitfire with some Badger Acrylic airbrush paint and had trouble with runs bad coverage. Some of this was this was due to it being my first time shooting acrylic through my airbrush, I'm used to thinned Testors Model Masters, which is a good bit more viscous so I had the pressure way to high. Is there anything I can do to clean it up or is it a sand and repaint sort of scenario? see the pics below

other info on this build
https://www.rocketryforum.com/showthread.php?t=3316

IMG_3190.jpg

IMG_3192.jpg

IMG_3193.jpg

IMG_3195.jpg

IMG_3197.jpg

I am new to this too, but I found when I sprayed to heavy and it was still wet it wiped off pretty cleanly. Its pretty thin so sanding cleans it off also without much effort. What brand of paint are you using? I have been using Createx.

Is there anything I can do to clean it up or is it a sand and repaint sort of scenario? see the pics below

This pretty much is a sand and repaint kinda thing..... From the looks of the picture of the fins, you were moving a lot of paint around with the high pressure. I never spray above 15 PSI. If the paint doesn't come out then it is generally too thick. The other problem many folks have is trying to cover too much with the paint. Red covers well but you still have to build in layers.

Thanks guys

as stated above I was using the Badger Paint, through a Paasche brush (that was probably half my problem :neener:)

Bravo52, yeah I got better coverage down near 12 psi I was shooting the Testors up near 18 psi, and being use to the way the enamels cover at 18 psi, like you said, I was expecting heavier coverage. I'll probably take some 500 - 1000 grit to it in the next few days and try to start over with out getting to deep in to the primer / base coat substrates.