Little Joe II repair thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjennings

Reaction score
I have a Estes Little Joe II, that recently suffered some hanger rash, LES tower broke off. So it got moved to the fix it hanger. I went to fly this rocket a several months ago and none of the 13mm motors I had in the range box wanted to fit. I decided the motor mount was warped and put it back in the car to be retired. (this is my first attempt at motor mount repair) I said to my self the other night,
"Self"
"Yes?"
"If you're going to glue the LES back on why not fix the motor mount too?"
"Hmm, not a bad idea, and if it looks like I'll do more damage to the rocket by removing the mount she's already semi-retired and I'll stop and just reattach the LES"
So I set out to fix my Little Joe II

First I remembered, didn't I field repair the motor mount in about 2001 with CA, that should make things interesting (First exposure to CA, I was flying with a friend, from college, and his kids the MM popped out and he said here use this to fix it.)
IMG_1521.jpg
looking down the dirty old body tube 1

IMG_1522.jpg
looking down the dirty old body tube 2

IMG_1523.jpg
MM successfully removed! Took some pushing and cutting and in the processes I popped a fin off, but that is not a big deal

IMG_1524.jpg
Shot of the left over glue in the body tube 1

IMG_1525.jpg
Shot of the left over glue in the body tube 2

i've got a little Joe II,
i always thought it would be nice on an 18mm motor,with a bit of mass in the capsule, she would be stable.
are you going for the standard 13mm or an upgraded 18mm, you could always use an adapter 18mm-13mm if you go for the 18mm.

Just a straight 13mm for 13mm replacement, I got the motor mount built and as I was installing It I thought I should have made this a 4X13 mm mount. Oh well maybe some other time.