Formula 98 Lemon Yellow Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kinderwood

Reaction score
Welcome to the first post of my Formula 98 build thread. This rocket is a 4 inch, 54mm motor mount, G12 colored fiberglass rocket from Rocketry Warehouse. This rocket was selected for a few reasons. My previous high power rocket was a 38mm, and I wanted to move up to 54mm after recently getting my Level 2. I also wanted a durable fiberglass rocket to use as a workhouse. There are lighter rockets than the Formula series, but Formulas seem to be extremely durable and easy to put together. I have never worked with fiberglass before and I think the Formula series is good for a first fiberglass build. This rocket will be using a MARSA54 for the primary altimeter with a PerfectFlite StratoLogger for backup. I also plan on making a fixed camera mount for my Replay XD1080 as well. I may experiment with adding radio tracking a bit later when I start flying with larger engines higher and farther. Without further ado, here's what I'm sure you all came here for, pictures. These were taken using my cell phone camera under artificial light, so the color and saturation may be slightly off.

Picture 1: Overview of all parts included in kit
1-Overview.jpg

Picture 2:Closeup showing fins and nosecone
2-Fins.jpg

Picture 3:Closeup of filament wound airframe showing filament pattern and coloring
3-Airframe Closeup.jpg

Picture 4:Closeup of cast graphite nosecone tip
4-Graphite Tip.jpg

I have been thinking about getting one of these (the 150 I believe) in 75 or 98mm

Subscribed! This is a great rocket for Level 2 that is why I am planning on attempting mine with a F98. Would like to see how you arrange your e-bay.

You could request a longer booster tube. You could also design a boat tail on the back of the rocket.