Blackhawk 38 Scratch build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kenstarr

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Several months ago I decided a Blackhawk 38 was needed to keep my Blackhawk 24 company. However for reasons unknown to me, I've decided to build the beast from scratch. The biggest issue in my building is getting started on a project and then ordering parts, waiting, building, procuring more parts, waiting.... Kind of drags on and I loose the spirit of the build. No more! Employing the principle of "mise en place" which I regularly do with cooking but heretofore have failed to do in rocket construction, I now have everything in place and am ready to begin! Near as I can tell. I've been accumulating needed supplies for about two months now. The following picture is the various materials that the rocket will be derived from, excepting random sundry items commonly found out in the garage.

Starting Materials.jpg

So the way I see this project, there are several sub-projects involved.

1. Fin construction
2. Body tube construction
3. Electronics bay construction
4. Final assembly

Fins will be the first part of the project. I've already printed out Rocsim fin templates that will be used to cut the 3/16" nomex honeycomb (from Giant Leap) to the correct size. The fins will be edged with round wood dowel (except the root edge) and finally laminated with carbon fiber (Soller Composites) and 4:1 laminating epoxy (US Composites). After carbon is applied, they will be vacuum bagged with my splendid new Seal-A-Meal device, or whatever brand it is. I'll post pics of the process once it is partially complete.