Open Rocket and Jolly Logic Chute Release

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a novice with Open Rocket and have been running simulations for some of my builds and using the Jolly Logic Chute Release. I set the parachute option to deploy at a specific attitude during descent in Open Rocket and get the simulation warning of recovery device deployment at high speed. Should I just ignore this warning or is there another way to simulate using the CR in Open Rocket?

Thanks

I'm a novice with Open Rocket and have been running simulations for some of my builds and using the Jolly Logic Chute Release. I set the parachute option to deploy at a specific attitude during descent in Open Rocket and get the simulation warning of recovery device deployment at high speed. Should I just ignore this warning or is there another way to simulate using the CR in Open Rocket?

Thanks

That warning is probably because your drogue/drogueless decent rate is over 75 fps, when the main opens.

Ok, so how do I simulate the reefed parachute acting as the drogue pending it's release by the JL chute release? I've never done dual deployment so I'm not sure how to simulate it in OR.

What you need to do (in both OR and Rocksim) is to simulate two-stage deployment.

Assuming you do NOT use a drogue at ejection:

1. At apogee, model a zero-weight drogue of some very small size (start with 8", increase until you correctly model your rocket's tumble rate) to simulate tumble descent rate
2. At Chute Release altitude, deploy your main.

If you go to https://www.jollylogic.com/chute-release-for-rocketry-ready-for-testing/ you can see the screens from Rocksim that show this being done.