Tracking hardware?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mushtang

Premium Member
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Is there a lightweight piece of equipment that will record the flight of a rocket using the GPS system?

I'd love to know the maximum speed and height for each flight, and plot the track on a computer screen, assuming I'm able to recover the rocket.

The Garmin Astro will record flight info, not like a flight computer it does work for rocket applications. One down side is: it will lose lock when exceeding Mach.

JD

Why GPS? There are a number of barometric-based altimeters that will do what you describe. My personal favorite is the new Perfectflite P-nut.

Now if you want to plot the ground track on a computer screen, then you do need to go GPS. I have no direct experience with this aspect in rockets. I do have the necessary bits from EagleTree systems to do this in model airplanes (see https://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/micro.htm).

I just assumed GPS would be the best way to get a 3D image of the track. Wouldn't using just air pressure give you only altitude? That would be enough to get max Altitude I suppose, but if there's a cheap GPS option I'd like that more I think.

Yeah, if you want a 3D view of the track, GPS is it. Height and speed can be had from a barometric device, but not ground track.

What does "lightweight" mean to you? I expect that answer will constrain the possibilities (or not) quite a bit....

There are cheap GPS data loggers (e.g., https://www.i-gotu.com), but I've had mixed success with them in rockets because many GPS chipsets go nuts with the rapid vertical position change at boost, even if they stay in lock.

Yeah, if you want a 3D view of the track, GPS is it. Height and speed can be had from a barometric device, but not ground track.