SkyTrax vs Corn Field

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Starfire73

OpenRocket Wannabe
Reaction score
Yup, that's a corn field all right!

This is a screen shot from my Universal Astrocam video on board an Estes SkyTrax, just before landing in the corn field. It was only a hundred feet or so into the field (which is a lot for a corn field). Four of us took our time and carefully walked the rows until we found it. With an Astrocam AND a JL Altimeter2 on board - I wasn't leaving that field until I found it!

What happened? The rocket weather cocked way more than I expected and headed out over the corn field. In addition, the chute got a spill hole burned in it upon ejection and a shroud line also let loose. So it didn't float back to us on the light wind as I expected. The corn was about 4' - 5' high.

1656981811124.png

Side note: I'm a rocket builder at heart but for some reason I like putting that SkyTrax (read to fly) up alot. Maybe because it's so durable and I don't have any time invested in it.

Last edited:
You need one of those bluetooth locaters such as a tile.
One of the fields used by our local club sometimes has 5' tall weeds, I've walked by my rocket a few feet away and missed it. We use long pink streamers in hopes that they will drape over the weeds and be more easily seen.

You need one of those bluetooth locaters such as a tile.
One of the fields used by our local club sometimes has 5' tall weeds, I've walked by my rocket a few feet away and missed it. We use long pink streamers in hopes that they will drape over the weeds and be more easily seen.
I was wondering if one of those apple tags would work. We don't have cell coverage where my club launches so it would have to be something that doesn't rely on cell coverage.