OPENROCKET Ground Track Chart

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SuperMoonFire

Reaction score
Hello guys,

I am currently participating in a project of a hyper-sonic hybrid rocket launch, and I have been given an assignment to estimate the approximation of the rocket's flight trajectory. I have chosen the OpenRocket soft, however, I have encouterd some misunderstandings of the output results.

I am kinda new to this programm, so I have decided to write here, as I did not find any posts related.

Environmental influence on the flight trajectory is the key feature in my research, so I had all of the info on the wind, coordinates and rod orientation filled out, however, and this is what botheres me, when the wind is stated to blow directly from the South direction the output graph in the Ground Track preset shows slight movement of a rocket (apparently just by ~2 metres) to the side. Apart from that, the lateral distance, velocities etc. seems fine.

I have no idea how to interpret those results.

There is another thing may be or not linked to the previous one: I can not allign the launching rod with respect to the wind, or I simply don't understand the relativness algorithm. If someone could explain to me, how to properly adjust the direction of the launch rod, he have my deep gratitude:)

I enclose the pics of the graph, the options screen and the rocket itself to the thread. If any additional info would be needed, feel free to ask:2::blush:

GroundTrack.png

Rocket.jpg

SimOptions.png

The documentation covers the launch rod alignment in detail. See if that helps. I usually don't mess with it.