IM-99A bottom paint schemes

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dakota196

Reaction score
There so many black schemes out there. Which ones are correct? I am looking for the bottom of the missile. White inner wings, black inner wings, white tips, black tips, black elevators, white elevators? I see there are a huge abundance of top photos, but not too many bottoms. I am looking for the most correct one. I am painting my model in the black scheme. Red radome or bronze/brown/ tan radome? Ugggh!

I studied a lot of photos, and watched the Rocket Aero videos closely and came up with two reliable paint patterns. The wing colors are opposite on the bottom, but the tail colors are the same on the bottom. The radome is an upainted fiberglass resin, which varies (in photos, at least) from tan to brown to reddish brown. A far as I can tell, the USAF markings that are popular appeared on display models and display full-size missiles or mockups, but the black missiles never flew with those markings. There were sever different numbers, of course, but I picked 13 because there were multiple nice photos in my files. I recall that only the Bomark A had the black scheme. I didn't have complete Bomarc B data when I drew this one up, but you can recognizle the B by its ramjets, which were straight cylinders behind the mid-point, without the little "waist" on the ramjets of the A model in my drawing.

Feel free to print out and use this drawing, but my posting here does not constitute permission to repost elsewhere or to publish this drawing.

Attachments

• Bomarc-70-colors.gif
    Bomarc-70-colors.gif
    128.8 KB · Views: 1
Straight tube on the "B"...

According to Peter: