How long is your booster stage?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buckeye

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I know the answer to this question is simulate, simulate, simulate. However, I will ask anyway, since I am a total noob at electronic staging.

Is there a good rule of thumb for the length of the booster airframe or ratio of sustainer to booster? Just enough to fit your motor and recovery gear? Seems to me, shorter the better on the booster for the stability of the stack. I am referring to an electronic-staged rocket with same diameter and fin pattern for both booster and sustainer.

To my eye, 2:1 looks reasonable. This example from Wildman looks almost 1:1, which would make me nervous in non-ideal conditions.

Last edited:
It probably depends on how much motor you want to stuff in there. Those 2 stage guys don't seem like they fool around.

I am with you, to my eye the first stage should be shorter, maybe it was all those direct staging Estes kits when I was a kid.

https://www.rocketryforum.com/threads/magg-nificent-two-stage-hpr-build-thread.179824/ This looks right to me.

I also am toying with a design of my own, that's a little more...sexy.

Screenshot 2023-09-24 161728.png

Last edited:
I’m not really going to help with the “it depends” answers, but just long enough to fit the biggest motor plus room for recovery is a really common answer. With both stages the same diameter, you’ll either need a separation charge or plan to separate them with motor ignition. If you’re using a separation charge, consider whether you want an altimeter and altimeter bay in the booster. That will add some length.

What are your goals for the project? It depends...

• Learn 2-stage with 29mm motors, maybe 24mm in the sustainer. 29/180 is probably the longest I would ever use.
  • 2500 feet or so altitude to start so that I can see all the events