Economical balance / scale to weigh models

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marc_G

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'd like to be able to weigh my rockets. Where can I get a suitable balance or scale with appropriate sensitivity? In my past life I was a scientist so I know lots of scienctific supply vendors but they are $$$$ unless prices have dropped drastically.

MArc

The "cheap chinese crap" scales will be sufficient for the needs of most modelers. I have two sales from Harbor Freight that get the job done nicely.

The first is a 1 kg scale with 0.1 gram resolution and commonly found on sale for about $12. The second is a 17 kg scale with 1.0 gram resolution I think I picked up for about $25.

The important thing to note is that these same crappy scales are often sold at *much* higher prices through other vendors. Don't expect that by paying more you are getting anything any better. If you want a decent low-end digital scale, be sure to do your research.

Got a part number for the 1kg one? There are a couple I found on the website but they were up in the $40-60 range. I think the one with suitable resolution (0.1g) was $59.99 and I doubt they put this one on sale for $60. MAybe my search didn't pick it up...

The one I have is by "US Balance" Model "US-MAGNUM-1000XR". There is no specific Harbor Freight number on the box. I do know the "regular" price is in the $20 range. I don't know what your timeframe is, but if there is a HF retail store in your area, definitely get on their mailing list for the sale flyers.