Av bay for beginners?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JRL303

Reaction score
I am planning my first dual deploy build. It will be the K&S Flash. I've searched but have not found an "intro to av bay" type build,tutorial. Does one exist?

Specifically, I am interested in the wiring to the charges. I noticed a lot of builds use some sort of white plastic terminal on the outside of their bulkheads for, I'm assuming, hooking up the e-matches. I am interested in learning about what these are and how they work for my build. Any other wiring tips are welcome. I will be using the Perfectflight Strattologger.

I have extensive experience with motor deployment on up to HP flights but now would like to venture into DD.

Thanks for any help/advice.

Jim

I'm assuming the av bay is the one Scott of K&S Rockets includes in his kit.

You might want to drop him a PM or email and ask him for guidance in setting up your av bay. He may have a tutorial already set up.

The K&S Flash is a small rocket. You will have limited space inside that 1.6" airframe. I would (and do) use centrifuge tubes (I make my own, but you can get pre-made tubes here) for deployment in smaller airframes such as that (e.g., I have a K&S 1.6" Bluebird Zero). Simply place a small hole in the aft/fore av-bay bulkheads for the apogee and main charges respectively, then route the leads from your centrifuge tube into the av-bay and hook up to your Stratalogger.

I am planning my first dual deploy build. It will be the K&S Flash. I've searched but have not found an "intro to av bay" type build,tutorial. Does one exist?