Another Steam Rocket Project! - General thoughts thread A

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott_Rocket

Reaction score
TL;DR:
1) i'm building a steam rocket to launch myself to skydive altitude
2) this thread (A) is for why you might think it's a cool or stupid idea or how you think it might fail
3) another thread (B) is for help with the physics and design of the vehicle; please Keep A thoughts out of B :)

-----
Ok, I know there was a lot in the news about "Mad Mike Hughes" and his um...interesting choice to launch himself in his home-made steam-powered rocket...(arguably a bad idea seeing as he almost broke his back, and the whole thing looked terribly un-thought-out).

Anyways, I'm no Mad Mike; I'm actually a scientist, a physician, and a skydiver; and I've been trying to design a rocket for a similar (but I'd like to think, more calculated) project for over 10 years. Lots of barriers, particularly with chemical-based rockets and all their associated safety issues and prohibitive costs etc.

Long story short, I think steam power (via ground-based pre-heating in a pressure vessel vs possibly peroxide mono-propellant) is actually feasible to reach an acceptable altitude (high enough for both my main parachute, and time for my reserve if the main fails). No offense to Mad Mike, but I do actually value my life enough not to try to land in the rocket. I'm only using it to get to altitude.

I'm creating 2 threads, this one is for general feedback. You guys can be like 'that can't produce enough thrust to take off' (spoiler-alert, it does), or 'You're gonna boil yourself alive!' (no, I'm not...although that is one of the catastrophic scenarios I want to document and engineer solutions to.