My rocket does a 180 turn, any ideas why?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joppe

Reaction score
So, I am a total newbie when it comes to rockets just to make that clear. But it just so happens that I got bored a sunday afternoon and decided to scratchbuild my very own paper rocket. I always like to do things myself, so thats why I did not just buy a kit at the hobbystore so you know.
But lets get to the point.. It was time to launch, so I drove to a nearby field, walked 100M to the middle through 50cm of wet snow and set up my platform and rocket. I lit the fuse and stumbled away hoping to see my beautiful construction go up, up and away. But, no... It went about 3M into the air, did a 180 turn and flew into the ground and went on to skid on the snow quite a distance before the motor burned out.:confused2: And the story repeats itself three times over, quite disappointing, but not unexpected.
So I am just wondering if anybody can give me some pointers as to why this happens, and what I could try to correct it. Any other reason than being homebuilt on a sunday will do.
The motor is also made on my workbench, 22MM ID with a 6MM nozzle, about 10cm long. Im adding the rocksim file I made, so if anybody cares to take a look at it, be my guest. Even try the construction on your own if you want to, to see if you get the results I did.

If anybody is wondering about the rockets name, its translation would be "The faller", since thats just what it kind of did, it fell over in the air and does not have a parachute.:blush:

Any help at all is much appreciated, thanks.

View attachment Ramlern1.rkt

Your home-made motor either had a nozzle defect and had vectored thrust or your rocket was unstable.

We do not discuss making our own motors on this forum.