launching mid power rockets?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

f16fan12

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm just getting into mid power rocketry and will soon start work on a PML Io, that I think has a 1/4" launch lug. My question is what I should use to launch it. I only have my estes launch pad and rod that's ok for engines A-C I'm sure. But this is bigger. So what pad/rod do you suggest, and how much is it. I don't really wanna spend a lot!

You can make a cheap pad out of PVC, you can use steel 1/4" rod for the launch rod. its cheap and easy to make.

Aerotech Mantis pad. I have one its a great pad for up to G motors. Even though the biggest I've flown off it is a only a C motor. LOL. There is no place in Sacramento really to launch any big motors. The only con about the mantis is it cost like $100.

I'm not sure which launch controller you use, but you'll need a 12 volt launch controller for the composite motors you'll be using with the Io whether they are of the single use or reloadable variety. The launch controllers that come with the Estes starter sets are only 6V and won't work.

The Aerotech Interlock controller connects to your car battery. It sells for about $45. There are others available as well. Estes did make a 12V system at one time that used rechargable NiCads. I think you can still find it from some dealers from time to time or perhaps on Ebay.

HTH

You can easily make your own launcher and controller for a lot less than buying them. Do a search and you will find a few threads on each.

I think it depends on what you want out of your model rocket experence.
I've alway been one of those who buillt everything myself, If I couldn't build it I didn't need it:D