Covering fins with paper(another rookie question)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vance in AK

Reaction score
I read somewhere awhile back about covering balsa fins with copy paper(attaching with spray adhesive) rather than sanding to get a nice surface.
What does anybody think of this?(other than it's lazy).
Vance

Vance, people cover their fins with all sorts of stuff :) My only experience is that you cover the grain of the wood but its' easy to just add ripples. I was thinking of trying to use drafting vellum on a rocket one day. But I'm no expert, so hopefully others chime in. You might try searching TRF and EMRR for the Imperial Lambda Shuttle by EMRR. As I remember he might have tried this on one of his prototypes.

I have never heard of covering fins with copy paper but I have covered them with tissue paper and dope like what model airplanes are covered with. it made them a little smoother and it added alot of strength

I've stuck .6 oz. Carbon Tissue to 1/8" balsa w/ West Systems epoxy and vaccuum bagged it w/ a Foodsaver. WAY smooth and lots stiffer and not much heavier!

I've tried using breather and release to do this and get LOADS or ripples. I've gotten the smoothest finish by using a glass (glass, not fiberglass) plate on one side, using several sheets of heavy bond paper as the "breather" and wax paper as the release. Use the papers on both sides. You can use glass plate on both sides, but make sure it doesn't overlap the balsa by much or it'll shatter when you pull the vaccuum. I'd imagine you could use reg'lar tissue for this as well. If'n you haven't got a Foodsaver, use two glass plates and a bunch (the more the merrier) of those big spring clamps from Home Depot (you may end up w/ small voids from bubbles this way) . I've glassed basswood bulkheads and balsa fins (usually .5 or .75 oz) this way as well.