Painting Help

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

othersider

Reaction score
Hi, I'm totally new to painting rockets (before I just left them unpainted;)), and I need a few tips, as well as some answers.

First off, I want to paint my LOC IV like on the LOC website. What are the names of the colors that would best match the paint job (I've looked, and there are so many variations it confuses me)? Also, should I get spray paint or should I apply the paint with a brush?

How else should I finish the rocket?

Othersider,

I can only tell you what works for me...there are almost as many ways to paint as there are rocket models these days. Here are a few tips that I use:

NEVER brush on paint, unless you are fine painting a micro-rocket or a very small part. Spray paint is the prefered method and has probably painted the majority of rockets that have been built. Some people use an Airbrush to paint their model; this is fine if you have an airbrush and are painting smaller rockets, but doesn't work as well on larger models. Some of the largest models are actually shot with a "big gun"; I know of several people that have taken their models to an Automobile painter for the finishing coats, but these were rather large models.

Sand your model first. If you have spirals, fill them if you wish, but lightly sand the surface with some 220-400 grit paper. Roughening the surface helps the primer to adhere. Sand the fins, body tube and nosecone.