should I build a mid power now?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nohup

Reaction score
I have been hoping to build my first mid power rocket this winter, and had pretty much decided on the Aerotech Mustang, but now I'm worried about the Aerotech engine shortage. Since I'm new to this I kinda want to start with single use motors. Besides Aerothech, what other choices do I have? I don't want to build this and then have no engines for an unknown time period. Or should I stick w/ the Estes D & E engines for a while? Does anyone have experience using the Aerotech 18mm D & 24mm E engines ?

Also, can someone point me towards some good info on how the reloadable systems work, so I can evaluate that alternative?
Thanks, and Happy New Year:cool:

From my experience at my local hobby store, the availablity of E-Gs is still there. There seems to be less of them but they are still available in decent supply. Could be different in your area. Check around.

Reloads are cool. I've never reloaded anything smaller than a 29mm but Mark Brown has. Tell him about it Mark.... :)

I love the 24mm RMS! In fact, I've been considering buying a few more of the 24mm cases so I could use them in a cluster. :p As far as RMS in general, I would give them a try. The mid power stuff seems to be more available in Reloadables than single uses. One caveat though, if you decide to go the RMS route, ask someone at a local launch to walk you through your first assembly. I'm sure that no matter who you ask, they'd be more than happy (maybe even flattered) to help you out. Don't get me wrong, it's not hard to do but, until you learn the names of each part, the directions can be confusing.

If you've got anymore questions, I'd be glad to answer if I can. Post away! :)

nohup,