New Member- Rocketry bio

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marclee

Reaction score
Like most of you, I am a B.A.R. Ok, there, I said it.

I'm actually a musician and singer most of the time. I travel all around the country performing my music. Some of you may know who I am and some not. They play me on country radio- my single is called "Memphis Rain." Just did a few tour stops with Dwight Yoakam. But I digress.

Yep, I started back in the early 70's as a kid. The usual Estes stuff. Left it all behind when I discovered girls and guitars (in that order). Didn't launch anything for over 20 years!

Then my 4-year old son started asking questions about rockets. Boom! I was done. Great opportunity because (as I told my wife as she was eying me with "that" look), "This will be a great educational opportunity for him..."

I re-entered with an Estes Mercury Redstone and got my son the Alpha starter kit. Had 5 great launches before a RET (Rocket Eating Tree) ate the Alpha. A friend gave me a pristine, still-packaged 1969 Estes Big Bertha and a bunch of unopened Estes kits (yeah!) from his youth. Am now working on an Aerotech Tomahawk.

Son loves it. I love it. Daughter loves it (those Aerotech motors sound so cool!) Wife is cool but iffy (haha). Am spending too much. No place to launch in Southern California but I do it anyway. had the local police helicopter dispatched last week... "ATTENTION you with the missles. Please cease your launches...Do not move until a surface officer arrives..."

Great forum. Thanks to all you experienced guys. I learn a LOT from all of you. Thank you!