BRB900 vs Eggfinder is there a difference other than build time and price?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OH-FER

Reaction score
I have been narrowly sneaking by with my RF beacon and rocket hunter system. But now I see that there are GPS modules that I can afford and some that are cheaper than the radio beacons. The two that seems best for me are the BRB900 with there standalone tracker and the eggfinder with the LCD system. I'm not a pro at soldering but I would like to get better so I'm not too worried about the Egg builds.

I would like to know if anyone has noticed a performance difference between the two. From what I can tell they seem to be relatively similar besides price and that one comes as a build kit.

Also does anyone have any recommendations on antennas to max the range out on these guys? Looking for Omnidirectional because some of my rockets are small an go out of sight so trying to keep a directional antenna on them might be tough. (feel free to argue that point).

But any help making this decision on what system to go with or other options would be helpful.

Eggfinder is on a fixed frequency (but you can chose which one when you order it). BRB uses a spread spectrum transmitter.

Eggfinder is on a fixed frequency (but you can chose which one when you order it). BRB uses a spread spectrum transmitter.

But The the new LCD receiver allows you to change the frequency to work with any of the egg-finder transmitter frequencies. right?

As mentioned above, the BRB900 uses spread spectrum transceivers, and each pair is assigned a unique ID so multiple systems can be active at once with out interfering with each other.

The GPS used is a u-blox MAX-7, approved for TRA records, and accurately tracks altitude during the flight after the microcontroller puts it into "air" mode.