First HP build.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IronKnees

Reaction score
I chose a very easy build for my first high power build... The Dx3.. It's coming right along, but I think it's also time to find out about launch rails... Do most guys purchase them, scratch build them, or are there any kited ones... Thanks so much in advance.. Dave

Please clarify. Are you asking where to buy or how to build an entire launch pad? Or do you have a launch pad that you want to add rails to?

More important, it is illegal to fly HPR unless you have an FAA waiver. Why not just fly with your club's pad?

Sorry about the wording... When I re-read my post, I can see I wasn't very succinct. First off, although this is my first high power rocket, I am fully aware of the FAA waiver and everything I need to go through in preparation for my Cert flight.. Being a retired airline pilot, I am more than familiar with airspace regs. and have run across a few airspace waivers for rocktes when ATC was on one of their screwed up days and while they were still in effect had to circumnavigate around them.. AKA Get vectored all over the place to get in line for spacing and cleared to intercept the localizer..
The club does have them for me to use. I was simply just wondering if very many guys have their own... Dave

You read a lot of threads about people building their own pad with rail, but I've been flying on rails since about 2005 and I don't personally know anyone that has their own pad with a rail, I certainly don't. Most rockets I have that use a rail also need a waiver so I only fly them at club launches. In almost 10 years I've never found an occasion where I wished I had my own pad with a rail. YMMV

I have my own rail pad.
I bring it to the club low power (byop) launches.
It's so much better flying any Estes Pro Series II rocket on "F" power from a rail.