Planning ahead... Which altimeter to plan on buying?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CzTeacherMan

Reaction score
So here's the deal... I'm in the planning stages for my Level 2 hunt. I've decided on something along the lines of a Darkstar 3". If I can't get that, I'm definitely going with a Wildman 3" kit of some sort. No matter which I end up with, I'm going to have to get an altimeter setup for the Dual Deploy. As I'm in the planning stage, I need to know what to get, but I have no idea where to start. There are many options out there, and I want something good. I have zero electronics experience, so anything that requires me to solder stuff together is out of the question. I'm not going to risk my Level 2 investment on my learning a new skill. I'm looking at the RRC3, but there are others out there. If I go that route, do I need the LCD interface and/or USB interface? Though I can't put electronics together, I'm rather handy with computers, so complicated computer interfaces don't scare me.
So here's my questions in order:
1) Which altimeter do you use for Dual Deploy and data logging? What are the positives/negatives of it?
2) What "extras" are required of that altimeter (battery, interface, etc)?
3) If you had to suggest a durable, high quality altimeter for a first-time DD rocketeer, which would you recommend and why?
As always, thanks for the thoughts.
On a side note, I'm willing to pay the worth for a good altimeter, but cost is always a consideration... Yes, I know about Black Friday sales; No I'm not in a hurry to get one. That's why I'm scoping options now, so I can plan, save, and then purchase when on sale.