Type/Brand of Glue for Fillets?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

7DeadlySins

Reaction score
Forgive me for repeating a question that has probably been asked countless times, I have found some answers to this question but they all seem to be geared towards the MPR/HPR side of things (using epoxy or the like). What I would like to know is what glue do you guys typically use for fin fillets on LPR kits? And what techniques do you use?

I am new to the hobby so am figuring things out as I go. Currently the glues I use while building are Medium and Thin CA and Lepage carpenters glue (I find it makes suitably strong joints with balsa). I have used the Lepage yellow glue for the fillets and I fined that it shrinks quite considerably once it is dried, and ends up with holes in the odd places. Would one of the Titebonds (I/II/III, Trim) glues work better? or perhaps another brand such as Gorilla Glue? Or do wood glue fillets need multiple applications to build up properly? The kit I am currently building I have used thinned wood filler to fill the fillet shape over top of the wood glue, but was thinking that there is probably a better way, and that here would be the place to ask.

Titebond No Run No Drip glue (formerly Trim and Molding glue). Smooth it with a damp finger. You can put all the fillets on at one time with this because the "no run no drip" bit is true. Unless you really hurry the application, no bubbles/holes either. Great stuff.

+1 on the Titebond trim and moulding glue (White bottle, black letters). It spreads out smooth but is very thick and sets fast, makes great fillets for LPR and MPR. It is sometimes hard to find at big box stores, you can find it at some real lumber stores, woodworkers supply places, and on-line.

Thanks guys :D