After school rocketry club - 2nd rocket suggestions?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fernando

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm a middle school teacher. I used to build and launch rockets about 20-25 years ago - but nothing since then. When school resumes I'll be teaching an after-school program on rocketry. Based on a friends recommendation and some basic research, I plan to start them each building one of Balsa Machining Service's School Rocket, but I'm trying to decide where to go from there.

My budget is pretty limited, so I was thinking that if I could find a few rockets that were a bit more complicated, I could have them work in pairs. Rather than have them all build the same rocket (something I might consider if I could get a cheap enough bulk pack) I was thinking a few different styles might be fun. Any suggestions what rockets i should look at?

Remember these are 11-14 year old kids with no experience (aside from the BMS school rocket).

Thanks!

I'd recommend a payload rocket like the Estes Comet Chaser. Having an assortment is always a good idea. My 9th grade science teacher had an assortment and we drew straws to get to pick which rocket we got to build. I unfortunately had a high number and got stuck with a spin fin.

Estes has a educator pack (#1753 that has three different designs (Alpha, Viking, the Generic E2X)) Mix that up with a pack of Comet Chasers, and keep the extras for next year (presuming the budget allows for it).

esteseducator.com

https://www.apogeerockets.com/Education
https://www.apogeerockets.com/index...h_result&search_in_description=0&keyword=bulk

Last edited by a moderator:
Fernando,

Welcome to the forum and hats off to you for putting rocketry in front of the kids.