Super DX3 build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dottore

Reaction score
Some back story: I built model rockets when I was a little kid, but never flew anything bigger than a B. Through a strange turn of events I found my way back to rockets, realized that I'm a grown-up now and I can build big things... so I put together an Aerotech HV Arcas, had fun, and decided to do something bigger with an eye towards certification.

So I thought I'd put up a thread to chronicle the build of my Madcow Super DX3. Here goes! (Comments and criticisms always welcome, I'm quite new at this.)

Rockets seem to involve mostly sanding, so I might as well start with some prep: masking off the 9.5mm leading and trailing edges on the fins. As I lack a proper jig (and my CNC mill is in pieces...) I'll freehanding these bevels.

fin-masked.jpg

Welcome!!! dx3 is a good looking rocket, I'm making one that looks simular to a dx3

Rockets seem to involve mostly sanding, so I might as well start with some prep: masking off the 9.5mm leading and trailing edges on the fins. As I lack a proper jig (and my CNC mill is in pieces...) I'll freehanding these bevels.

View attachment 176855

You're off to a great start. Your intro story sounds vaguely familiar. :) Now about that CNC machine... pieces ?!?

Goodluck with the build and your L1 attempt, I built one stock with dual deploy for my L2.

You're off to a great start. Your intro story sounds vaguely familiar. :) Now about that CNC machine... pieces ?!?

Yeah – it's nothing impressive, I don't have a VMC in my basement (unfortunately). :wink: