Loki Research motors

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

conman13

Reaction score
OK so I am new to the whole Loki research motors but I wanted to know if there was a way to use an adapter system like the aerotech system in a Loki reload? or do you have to buy every single case? Another thing I was wondering was if you can use the aerotech delay drilling tool on the Loki delays?

-Connor

Loki doesn't have a spacer system so you pretty much have to have every size case. As far as drilling I have used the AT drilling tool with no problems.

Loki doesn't have a spacer system so you pretty much have to have every size case. As far as drilling I have used the AT drilling tool with no problems.

I'm pretty sure they were designed to use Cesaroni's Delay Adjustment Tool, although it's interesting to learn AeroTech's tool will work as well.

Also to note: You need to get the case AND nozzle for the load you want to use.

120ns: #10 nozzle
240ns: #16 nozzle
480ns: #19 nozzle.....etc etc

This, of course changes if you're flying the I110 but that is documented a bunch of different ways.

For the price, the H and I motors hardware and reloads are a very good deal. Coming from the CTI world where you can get the 3&6 grain motors and use spacers I can understand the frustration that you have to buy a case for every load, but on the other hand, Loki motors are designed specifically to eke out every possible NS out of that size hardware. I think that it is probably *technically* possible that Scott could create a spacer system I think that only increases the chances of a motor failure and that is a risk I don't think that Scott would take with his brand.

Hope this helps!

Last edited: