Recommendations for easy-to-use tracking device for total newb with no smartphone.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bat-mite

Rocketeer in MD
Reaction score
I have never done any kind of electronic tracking. But I am going to need it soon. I know nothing about it--how to, cost, availability, etc.

I would like to know what people are using, how hard it is to learn, where you got it, and what you paid for it.

I read up on most of the devices on BigRedBee, but I think I don't know enough to understand what I'm seeing. I certainly don't need GPS data to download to my PC or anything like that. I just want something that will help me find my rocket if it gets way up there and out of sight.

Thanks.

Eggfinder with an LCD screen. Gives you coordinates to walk to the rocket.

What is the project you are working on? What altitude do you plan to hit? What diameter is the rocket? What kind of weight and space limitations do you have? Do you have a Ham license?

Sent from my iPhone using Rocketry Forum

Eggfinder with an LCD screen. Gives you coordinates to walk to the rocket.

I like the price, but it looks like you have to connect it to a laptop. What do you do -- eyeball it in Google Earth, and then start walking in that direction?

Here's my thoughts on trackers, from another thread. TL;DR you can't go wrong with simple. Unless you're flying to 30k+' at Black Rock (where RDF gets eaten by the playa monster), you'll be just as quick with RDF as with GPS, but you're out a lot less cash if you lose it, and it never loses lock.

The eggfinder LCD does not require a laptop...it has an LCD readout. I have just ordered one, but have no practical experience with it.

It is a kit and requires that someone solder it together. Know your limitations there. I plan to ask a friend for help, because among my skills I do not count 'soldering'. I just don't.