Estes Tercel build thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrichhcirm

Reaction score
Hi all. I've never done a build thread before but I figure it's my turn to contribute. Also, I wasn't able to find a Tercel build thread on TRF so it seems like an unmet need.

This is also my first boost glider, so expect to see my rookie mistakes! I did study up on boost gliders in the Stines' Handbook of Model Rocketry, Apogee's online publications, etc. so I don't think I'm completely in over my head. The Tercel is a simple, old-school design: a no-nonsense free-flight glider on a pop pod.

My first observation is that the Estes instructions are a bit on the terse side, so I definitely recommend doing your homework like I did...I learned enough to know that it's not listed as a skill-level 3 kit for nothing. I also learned enough to know that some of the things I learned building flying model airplanes as a kid won't work for a boost glider, especially trimming for boost and glide.

The first step is to sand the wing before removing it from its sheet. Next is to cut out the paper template and use it to trace a line across the top (the side without the cross-cuts) of the wing. Although the instructions don't explain this, the purpose of the line traced from the template is to mark the thickest part of the wing along the span, as a guide to sanding the airfoil section.

20140607_224726[1].jpg 20140607_224934[1].jpg

Last edited:
Next step involves a lot of sanding with medium and fine emery cloth (I like emery cloth because you can easily wrap and bend it around a block...it won't crease and create ragged sharp edges like sandpaper does, and you can wash and reuse it).

I think I have a passable airfoil section at this point. Leading edge is on the right...the wing is like a bit like a Spitfire ellipsoid, only with the leading edge swept back.