Keep Losing My Rockets - Need Advice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kerfuffle

Reaction score
Hi guys - new member here and complete novice. I have twin boys aged 5 and we built a rocket last week and launched it successfully - used a C6-7 engine which Estes recommended for it. It went way up there and parachute came out and then the wind took it way off course - like several miles. Bought a second rocket and launched it a bit into the wind this time and everything worked fine but again the parachute just drifts away and is completely lost. Getting frustrated. I read that I should cut holes in the parachute but not sure what that will do. Any advice? Tired of spending $40 to get one launch out of it.

First, Welcome to the Forum.
What Rockets are you launching? Most of the average size Estes Rockets will recover just fine with a Streamer instead of a Parachute. I fly my Estes Crossfires and M104 Patriot on Streamers.

Small rockets work well with streamers. Ditch your chutes altogether and attach a cloth, nylon, mylar, or some kind of very light fabric streamer (like a kite tail), and use that instead. The streamer flutters on the way down and produces just enough drag to prevent fin damage on landing. Heck, a 1 - 1.5 ounce rocket can usually free-fall with no damage, honestly.

For bigger rockets, use this site to calculate your descent rate. Use the rocket weigh the mfg. gives you, plus add a tiny bit for s spent motor casing.

Once you have the descent rate, use this formula. Wind speed in MPH X 5280 feet / 3600 seconds to get the amount of drift per second. Multiply the drift by the descent rate, and you should have an estimate of how far the rocket will drift.