Blame it on the BlackStar (finally!)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stealth6

insert witty tagline here
Reaction score
I FINALLY finished my 3" Black Dark Star (from the 2012 Wildman Black Saturday Sale). Phew.
Mine is named "(blame it on the) BlackStar"

This sat in the build pile for a long time. First due to the fact that I had other projects in the queue, and second due to 2013 ending up being a pretty non-rocketry year for me. This past winter gave me a lot of time to build and indulge in rocket stuff though, so I got busy. The build itself went fine, but the finish/painting was a nightmare. I kept running into problems, delays, re-do's, etc. From the time I started painting to the finish was literally months, as I kept putting it aside and coming back to it. I'm "okay" with the final results.

As you can see, I discarded (actually sold) the original fins and shaped my own. I know this will be considered blasphemy by some, but it's what I do, so there. I used Aeropoxy throughout, with silica thickener for the external fillets, and chopped carbon fibre inside. Replaced the nose-tip bolt with all-thread and did the "glueless nosecone" thing (will stuff my BRB-900 tracker in there). AV bay is pretty standard, with an RRC-3 for the main alt. and an RRC-2+ for backup. Standard 1010 rail buttons, although I did three rather than two. All bolts (buttons, av-bay, etc.) thread into embedded pem-nuts.