Trying to Build a Launch Controller

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sharpe

Reaction score
I have no previous experience about electrical work, but a couple of days ago I got the harebrained idea of building my own launch Controller. The estes controller I've had since I was 9 is pretty old and crummy. In the past I've only worked on LPR rockets, but I'm about halfway through the Estes V-2 semi scale that takes E motors, so I would need a different controller anyway.

I'm hoping that I can build a controller that I can use for a longer time and for higher power motors as well, when I get there. I know that composite motors need a different type of ignition than the low power gun power ones. If I am correct, certain, larger motors need a higher voltage for the ignitor to work. Is that correct?
Do smaller ignitors fail if the voltage is too high?

In terms of a Power source, I was thinking 12V batteries seem to be a good bet for the power needed for a lot of launchers. Thoughts?

Also, since I'm trying to build a launcher that I will be using for a long time, I'm trying to think of fun and/or cool looking bells and whistles. I know that I need the basic warning light when the ignition key is turned, but I would like to build something that has more lights and switches. I know it's childish, but from my forum browsing it doesn't' seem like I'm the only one. Any suggestions for what I could add to justify this?

I've drawn a schematic for a basic launcher with the one connection warning light. Does my wiring work? I'm not sure the D4 diode is necessary.
Launcher 1.png
(I couldn't think of a way to represent the ignitor, so I chose a resistor symbol. If I'm not mistaken, resistance creates heat, so I'm guessing the ignitors are a form of resistor)

It's not quite correct, and you don't need the diodes.