Semi-Scale RIM-66 Standard Missile Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NickT

Reaction score
Hey all,
This is my first build thread, and I decided to do it on one of my newest designs (The first one that I have actually built). I'm building a semi-scale RIM-66 Standard Missile, with and Estes BT-60 for the main body tube. Again, this is my first build thread, so if you guys have any advice, that would be great!

Here is how it looks in RockSim:
Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 3.41.00 PM.png

Screen Shot 2013-12-08 at 3.41.31 PM.png

The body tube (cut to size) and nose cone (That's an 18-inch ruler):

photo 1.jpg

This is the 24mm MM:
photo 4.jpg

I was really debating whether to go with an 18mm or 24mm MMT, so I decided why not both?! This is the picture of the adapter that I designed to fit into the 24mm MMT. It actually fits better than I thought!
photo 5.jpg

This is the MM with the adapter and an 18mm C6-5 I had lying around:
photo 2-2.jpg

And here is the MM with a burned-out D in it (You can't see the orange spacer behind it that allows E-size MMTs to be able to fly the shorter D's, so I can fly Es also):
photo 3.jpg

I'll have more pics coming soon,

Thanks,
NickT

Last edited:
I just installed the Motor Mount into the sustainer. I recessed it back an inch to accommodate a planned semi-scale Mk12 booster (see below) The balsa I used for the fins was pretty bad, so there was a lot of cracks and splinters, so I am in the process of layering all of them with a wallboard joint compound. I've used it in the past, and it fills holes nicely and takes paint well.

Here is the body tube and installed Motor Mount:
IMG_1183.jpg

And the fins:
IMG_1184.jpg

And here are some RockSim diagrams of the rocket with planned Mk12 booster:
Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 5.18.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 5.18.28 PM.png