Nose Cone Preference

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gary Byrum

Overstable By Design
Reaction score
I'm sure some scratch builders could have some say about this subject. There are a great many sizes, lengths & variations of nose cones, but they boil down to a few basic categories. Conical, Ogive & Elliptical. And if you wish to include complex NC's like those with towers and intakes and such, so be it. But as a designer, I'm usually drawn to a style that appeals to me which pretty much defines the overall look of my design. The fins....well, that is indeed another defining category. But importantly, the NC must compliment and or perform adequately with the fins and the overall aesthetic look of a model rocket. That's my take on it and I'm sticking to it.

Now, which shape catches your eye the most? My preferred shape is Ogive and anything that resembles it. My pick of the litter is the 55 AC. That, and anything in any size tube that shape will fit. The 55 AC has to be one of the most impressive NC's I've ever worked with. That Ogive shape is on a great many of my rockets. I'd like to know what your preference is.

PNC 55 AC.jpg

I have bought quite a few SEMROC "G" series cones. Labled G3, G4, G5 and a BNC60 G36. The curve on these cones just seem "slicker" for want of a better word. I built a 3 engine cluster that features 3 of the "G" series cones, 2 BNC60 G3 on the boosters and a BNC 70 G3 on the main booster section. I'm where I don't buy for specific builds, I buy for stock. It's nice to look in a drawer and see several of a size to choose from :)

My favorite shape all day long is the PNC-50Y. The old blow molded version used on the Icarus, Polaris, Avenger and MANY others. I hope they bring that one back.