I am NOT a rocket scientist

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nessalco

Reaction score
Pardon my ignorance.

On another forum, I'm looking at thrust curves that express total thrust in lb/ft/sec. I am trying to correlate to the "newtons seconds" measurements common in rocketry

Is the common 'total thrust' figures we see associated with motors expressed in newton second/meter²?

Is it correct that 492 lb/ft/sec = 732 Ns?

Thanks!

Kevin

Motor numbers are expressed in Newton-seconds.
The Total Impulse is measured in "lb-sec." or "N-sec", but there's no feet or meters involved unless your measuring horsepower I guess. Multiply lbs by 4.448 to get newtons. So 492 lb-sec = 492 X 4.448 = 2204 N-sec, K motor.

Steve G

Steve,

That's where I started. Since we're talking about a motor with only 2.5 oz of fuel I knew that assumption was askew. I can't give details outside the research forum, but we're talking black-powder motors. I'm really trying to figure just what these guys are on to.

Performance-wise these seem to be a big G or small H motor - hence my confusion.

Kevin

Pardon my ignorance.

On another forum, I'm looking at thrust curves that express total thrust in lb/ft/sec. I am trying to correlate to the "newtons seconds" measurements common in rocketry

Is the common 'total thrust' figures we see associated with motors expressed in newton second/meter²?

Is it correct that 492 lb/ft/sec = 732 Ns?

Thanks!

Kevin

did you read " lbf-s"?

Thrust=how much force the motor is applying. Thrust is an instantaneous value-it changes continuously with time while the motor is burning, hence "thrust curves" which show the thrust as a function of time. Thrust has units of force, usually N for newtons, or lbf or lb for pounds-force.