New To RCRG

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iqsy59

Reaction score
I'm not exactly sure how this happened, but somehow I recently stumbled my way into both an Estes Sweet Vee and an Aerotech Phoenix in the same week. These will likely be winter builds, so I have a little time to prepare myself for flying them.

I am completely new to RC aircraft, although I inherited a Great Planes PT-40 MkII that I had bought for my dad before he passed away. I'm not sure, however, that I have the time to invest in restoring it and then making regular trips to the local airstrip without seriously cutting into my rocket time.

With that in mind, I've been thinking about alternatives for honing my skills. One option that I'm considering is to get a copy of RealFlight and a Flyzone Calypso electric powered glider. It looks like version 7 of RealFlight is coming out later this month. Also, there is an undeveloped business park just down the road from my house that is a common hotspot for electric park fliers.

I was interested in the thoughts from some of the experienced RCRG guys out there. From my experience with ROSCO and ICBM, I know there is no substitute for joining a local club. I'm just wondering if it is possible to make the leap to RCRG without investing a bunch of time and money in traditional RC fixed wing aircraft first.

Cheers,
Michael

...I recently stumbled my way into both an Estes Sweet Vee and an Aerotech Phoenix... I'm just wondering if it is possible to make the leap to RCRG without investing a bunch of time and money in traditional RC fixed wing aircraft first.